Canon VI – The Episcopate

6.1 – Ecclesiastical Authority

The Bishop is the Ecclesiastical Authority. If the Bishop shall die, resign or, in the unanimous opinion of the Standing Committee, be unable to act by reason of physical or mental infirmity, the Bishop Coadjutor, if there is one, is the Ecclesiastical Authority. In such events, if there is no Bishop Coadjutor, a Bishop Suffragan, if there is one, may be designated in writing upon a two-thirds’ vote in favor thereof, by the Standing Committee, as the temporary Ecclesiastical Authority. If there are no Bishops Suffragan or, if there are such, one is not designated as the temporary Ecclesiastical Authority by the Standing Committee, the Standing Committee shall be the temporary Ecclesiastical Authority.

6.2 – Archdeacons

The Bishop may nominate to the Convention, for election, one or more Archdeacons who, under the Bishop, shall have such duties as may be assigned by the Bishop.

6.3 – Committees and Commissions

The Bishop shall appoint the members of all Committees and Commissions unless these Canons provide a different method of selection or election. The Bishop shall be member, ex officio, of all Committees and Commissions over which he has the power of appointment.

6.4 – Commission on Ministry, Bishop to Appoint

The Commission on Ministry shall consist of not less than six Clerical and six Lay Members, appointed by the Bishop, pursuant to the Canons of the General Convention, for terms of not less than one nor more than three years.

6.5 – Bishop’s Purse

At the discretion of the Bishop, there may be an annual Bishop’s Appeal which shall solicit contributions towards such extraordinary projects as the Bishop may designate. It shall be the duty of every Rector and Priest-in-charge to inform their congregations of the timing and purpose of the Bishop’s Appeal using the materials provided by the Bishop for that purpose.