St. George’s, Church, Schenectady, was established in 1735, and in 1865 it became the first parochial mission in Schenectady. Within two years after its establishment, it became an independent parish. As the population of Schenectady more than doubled in the first decade of the twentieth century, St. George’s responded with the establishment of three more parochial missions in the Schenectady area: St. Paul’s Church, 1913, St. Andrew’s Church, (Scotia) in 1916, and St. Stephen’s Church, in 1928. In time each became independent parishes. In 1952, St. George’s undertook a major restoration of the church, and today remains a vibrant Christian community in the Anglo-Catholic tradition serving the historic Stockade district of Schenectady and the surrounding area.