St. John’s Church – Essex
St. John’s, Essex: In 1856 the former Ross family schoolhouse was converted to a church that was incorporated as St. John’s Episco
pal Church in the Diocese of New York. Appropriate Gothic features with buttresses and lancet windows were added to the exterior, and a stone altar, designed by former rector John Henry Hopkins who wrote “We Three Kings of Orient Are”, and other interior accouterments were added over time. In time the parish grew and established mission churches in nearby Boquet, Willsboro and Elizabethtown. Today, St. John’s is a growing and vibrant faith community that assumes a vital role in the Hamlet of Essex and, through its various mission programs, reaches far beyond.